Tags

, , , , , ,

Facebook announced revamped privacy and sharing settings for all users Wednesday morning. The changes will be rolled out from now through the end of the year, but the company shared a sneak peek of the new menu options.

The updates include Privacy Shortcuts, an easier-to-use Activity Log, and a new Request and Removal tool for managing multiple photos you’re tagged in. Facebook has also added new in-product education that makes key concepts around controlling your sharing clearer, such as in-context reminders about how stuff you hide from timeline may still appear in news feed, search, and other places.

Here’s a brief outline of the changes and how they will affect you.

1. In Context: More controls right where you need them

If you wanted to change your privacy and timeline controls on Facebook, you would need to stop what you’re doing and navigate through a separate set of pages. Your Facebook privacy settings — which previously lived in several different menus — will be organized under one roof, called Privacy Shortcuts:

FB privacy changes 1

App Permissions

The first time you log into a new app, it asks for permission to use your info to personalize your experience. Some apps also ask to post to Facebook.

Before today, these two requests were part of the same screen and happened at the same time. Soon you’ll start to see these requests happen separately, so you have more control over what you share.

FB privacy changes 2

FB privacy changes 5

 

Everyone used to have a setting called “Who can look up my timeline by name,” which controlled if someone could be found when other users typed their name into the Facebook search bar. The setting was very limited in scope, and didn’t prevent people from finding others in many other ways across the site.

Because of the limited nature of the setting, we removed it for people who weren’t using it, and have built new, contextual tools, along with education about how to use them. In the coming weeks, we’ll be retiring this setting for the small percentage of people who still have it.

Updated Activity Log

The updated Activity Log has new navigation, so you can easily review your own activity on Facebook, such as your likes and comments, photos of you, and posts you’ve been tagged in. It also has new ways to sort information. Now you can quickly see public photos you’re tagged in and have hidden from your timeline, but which still appear in other places on Facebook.

 

FB privacy changes 4

Within the updated Activity Log, you now have a Request and Removal tool for taking action on multiple photos you’re tagged in. If you spot things you don’t want on Facebook, now it’s even easier to ask the people who posted them to remove them.

These updates and new tools will begin rolling out at the end of 2012.

ABOUT US

The Social Media Engagement Co. help’s businesses across the globe to create, connect and engage with their communities by creating on-line social experiences that integrate business intelligence, social networks & mobile technologies. Our mission is to provide interactive solutions to assist organisation’s to optimise their on-line presence and to drive this medium to its fullest potential by developing tailor made on-line strategies for our clients to ensure their objectives and outcomes are achieved.

We specialise in creating robust Social Media Policies that can be tailor made to your organisations needs. Some of our other services include:

 

 

To find out more head to www.socialmediaengagement.com.au

About these ads